It’s crepes day!

So hard to find energy in these days and do everything I need to do. Summer time in SF is almost over and I am writing during a totally depressing day with lots but lots of rain… After reading all my favorite blogs, I found enough energy to write what I had in my mind for a long time…

Regular crepes were also off limits for people who are in gluten free diets. And I was not sure that I could do easy one with not so many ingredients. It always makes me lazy when I see an incredible picture of a meal and than look their recipe and I get scared of all the ingredients they use.. It is always pain to have exact same ingredients with the internet recipes for gluten free items especially. That’s why I make my own recipes and not rely on them… I sometimes dream about bloggers to send those ingredients to me and I just make it that recipe at home.. why not? 

So here is my own crepes recipe.. I filled with chicken mushroom ingredients but you can make it both for sweets and savory dishes.

2 Large eggs

1 cup of rice or regular milk

1/2 cup of brown rice flour

1 pinch of salt

1 Tablespoon of canola or olive oil

Beat the eggs and add milk and oil.

Add gradually the flour and salt and mix them well. It should look like more liquid than a thick batter.

Just spread 1/2 cup of the batter into the greased and heated pan.

Wait until the corners of the crepes are brownish and there are some small bubbles on top the crepes to flip them.

Makes 4 large crepes.

Chicken-mushroom filling:

2 slice of chicken breast almost 1 pound

1 cup of any kind of mushrooms you like (I used portobello)

1/2 cup of heavy cream

1 scallion

1 cup of mozzarella cheese

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

Heat the olive oil in the pan and add scallions. Slice the chickens and add them to the pan. Sprinkle the salt and pepper on them.  Add mushrooms and let them cook little bit for a 2-3 minutes. I like the mushrooms marinated with oregano and olive oil but this is just optional. So you can make either way. Stir occasionally.

When the chickens are well done and the mushrooms wilted you can add the heavy cream and stir all them together.  Cook them in a lowest heat for 3 more minutes and it is ready.

Take one of your crepes and add the chicken filling and add mozzarella cheese as well. You can also melt the cheese in microwave and serve on top of the crepes but I didn’t think that at that time.

Believe me it was a challenge for me.. So I closed the crepes and eat easily. It was not so heavy because I didn’t use any heavy sauces on top of it but I am sure it could be nice with some Bechamel sauce.

You can add other sauces you like.. We liked the color of our Thai Sweet Red chili sauce so we just added but the taste was enough for me!

Hope you also enjoy this type of dinner like us!

Leave a Reply

